Pattern Review Sewing Bee – The JJ made it to round2!!!

My top made it to round two!! There were almost 150 entries, most of them very good, and I’m one of the lucky 50 who were selected to continue.

I have never used such a delicate fabric, I have always avoided it because it’s so daunting. However, I knew that if I wanted to have a chance to go to the next round, I had to challenge myself. I starched the fabric to make it a little stiff and easier to cut and sew. I then carefully stitched the vertical seams to check the fit. I wanted to treat this fabric with the care it deserved, so I finished the seams with the fake french method. All vertical seams and the shoulder seams are finished like that. The neckline and sleeves binding are hand stitched to the back of the blouse and the hem is hand rolled. Because of the gathers, I couldn’t fake french the sleeve seam at the armscye, so I ran a double line of stitching 1/4inch apart and then ran a wide and long zig zag around to prevent unraveling. The blouse closes with 6 bobble buttons spaced ever 2.5 inches. The button bands are cut with the fronts and folded twice. There is no topstiching, the buttonholes, buttons and top binding plus hem hold the bands folded. I chose to do this so the blouse remains as delicate as possible, with no visible seams. The buttonholes are the only stitches that are visible from the right side of the blouse.

I must say it is the nicest blouse I have ever had/worn. It feels very soft against the skin and it flows and moves with the body.

For round 2 we need to make the fabric our own. I thought about applique, reverse applique, couching, quilting, but in the end decided to do some sort of weaving. It’s not something I’ve seen or done before, so I’m not sure how good it will look in the end, but I decided to take this risk. We’ll see how it goes.

7 thoughts on “Pattern Review Sewing Bee – The JJ made it to round2!!!

    • Sunt amandoua aici. Multumesc mult, Carmen! Stii ca pe mine nu ma supara putina carcoteala, dimpotrive, deci te rog sa carcotesti de cate ori vrei🙂

  1. It is indeed the nicest blouse you ever made. Devii din ce in ce mai buna. Stii ca sunt carcotasa, dar aici nu am nimic de zis, decat laude. Mult succes mai departe. Carmen

What do you think?

