Bust my stash! or Less shopping, more sewing

It’s been a little over a year since I moved to London and a little less since I started buying fabric and patterns here. I have developed quite a large stash since then, there’s a lot of fabric hidden in dark cupboards, cardboard boxes and the bottom of my wardrobe. I have a high stack of sewing magazines (mostly Burda) and a big drawer of patterns. I won’t have time to use all the fabrics and patterns I have in the next year, but I still kept buying. During the holidays I spent quite a lot of time browsing on-line shops and I bough more fabric and patterns. I love so many of them, and I’m sure I have enough love to give to even more fabric and patterns, but I’m not treating them well by stuffing them in dark places.

Soooo, I decided to stop buying more for at least 6 months. The only exceptions will be interfacing, zips, etc and the occasional Burda. Oh, and I’ve already subscribed to Sew Magazine, so I will get that every month too.

These are the last two pieces of fabrics I bought from myfabrics.co.uk. The fabric came from Germany, but I think they have an office in UK. The spotty one is a boiled wool and the spots are actually blue. I am looking for a fitted blazer pattern in my stash, I’m sure I have something to use it for. The yellow check is a poly remnant, 0.8m. I think I will make a sleeveless shift dress out of it.

Before or around Christmas I bought this from Textile express fabrics. Waterproof poly cotton (Burberry apparently) and seersucker. I’m going to use those stripes for a v-neck dress with a center front seam.

The weekend after Christmas I went to Walthamstow, hoping to meet The man outside Sainsbury’s and find this beautiful jacquard Karen used months ago. He wasn’t there, but all the shops were open, so I didn’t come home empty handed. The wool check is from Saeed fabric, only 5/meter. They also had boiled wool and it was 50% cheaper than what I paid for the spotty one. Their wool didn’t have spots, but they had plenty of colors to choose from.

I bought this raw silk for Pauline Alice’s Quart coat. I had to buy 10 meters because I couldn’t find any in smaller quantities. I’m going to try and dye 3 meters a darker green. If it doesn’t work, I will still have 7 meters left.

Beautiful cashmere bought from The man outside Sainsbury’s 4 months ago. Not sure what to make with it.

I’ve only used 3 of the fabrics I got in Goldhawk Road at the the meet up.

And there’s plenty more hidden away that I don’t have photos of and probably don’t even remember I have. I’m going on a stash busting diet and it shouldn’t be hard considering the beauties I’ve hoarded.

4 thoughts on “Bust my stash! or Less shopping, more sewing

    • It’s done and I’m going to wear it tomorrow, I hope to take a few pictures too. It was a stash fabric, but I have to confess I have already bought more fabric 😦. Not that I’m looking for excuses, but it is planned for running gear and I didn’t have more than black Lycra.

What do you think?

