The mash up duvet dress

What’s quilted, cozy and warm? A duvet is the first thing that comes to mind, but so is my dress. I bought the fabric 2 months ago, after seeing it on Karen‘s instagram. I love everything she makes – I recently bought the pattern she used here and I’m very sad I couldn’t get to Walthamstow since then to get some of that fabric too. I’m a bit of a fan girl, but I find her blog inspiring and very helpful – it all started with her instructions for the Butterick 5605 sleeve gusset.

Back to my dress, I started working on it at the same time I was making my purple Vogue, and I finished it shortly after finishing that one. It just took an eternity to take pictures.

I used the Tonic t-shirt (free!) and an older dress to make my pattern. I think I should’ve cut the neckline band a little longer, the neckline was a lot wider and there’s some dragging around that wasn’t there before I inserted the band.

I do most of my sewing late at night and things go wrong more often than they should. Sometimes they’re fixable, sometimes they’re not. This time I forgot to add hem allowances to the sleeves and didn’t do a sway back adjustment even though I knew I needed it. I hemmed the sleeves by turning them less than 1cm and they hit right above my wrist. It’s a not a problem, as I find myself rolling my sleeves up most of the times. The extra fabric in the back is there to stay though.

That’s it, short and sweet. I didn’t realized it’s been more than a month since I blogged, and I do have more to show you.

Until next time!

What do you think?

