WhiteTree Purple Vogue 8787

Sometime in august I met Simona for a drink when she was in London and she told me about WhiteTree Fabrics and their blog team. I checked their website and they were still looking for bloggers to join the team, so I signed up!

It took me two months to make this dress and write this post, and this was after almost a month of trying to choose the pattern and fabric. In the end I decided to go with something practical, that I could wear everyday. I used Vogue 8787 because I loved that neckline, a purple ponte roma and black stretch lining.

After looking at images of finished dresses using this pattern, I decided to make the top one size smaller than what I would normally go for. The neckline and gathered detail were more obvious when the top is really stretched on the body. The little table on the envelope says I’m somewhere in-between size 12 and 14, but after measuring the pattern I cut the top in size 10 tapering to 12 at the waist/skirt.

I didn’t want a straight skirt, but a very full skirt wouldn’t look to good in this fabric either (I think), so I closed the darts on the straight skirt to get this A-line shape. I followed the pattern instructions for constructing the dress, but I always attach the lining following this tutorial.

It’s not very visible here, but I do need a sway back adjustment

The plan was to make a winter dress but it looked much too severe with long sleeves and skirt.

My next project will be something crazy, because that’s what you should do with free patterns and fabric! I don’t know how often I would wear a jacket like this, but I need one in my life.

Here’s a discount code you can use for 20% off and free delivery – LIVING ROOM. Go check their lace selection, it’s huge!

3 thoughts on “WhiteTree Purple Vogue 8787

  1. Pingback: The mash up duvet dress | Made in my living room

    • Thanks, Chris! I thought the color is a bit too dark for me, but it’s very practical. And I wear black quite a lot lately, so this should be an improvement🙂

What do you think?

