London Sewing Meet Up

Pff, what a day! What a day! I shyly entered the V&A cafe this morning at around 11 (fashionably late? 🙂 ), where there were 60-70 ladies, wearing fabulous outfits. I looked around for a few minutes, building courage to join one of the groups. It was a bit strange not knowing anyone, but I guess it was the same for many of the girls there. And once I joined, there was no way out! 🙂 I met so many lovely ladies – Amy, Amanda, Louise, Carmen, gorgeous Jennifer, Simona, blogless Vicki who had a fantastic self drafted shawl collar linen dress, blogless Maya who bought some really cool fabrics, I hope she will start a blog or at least Instagram, so I can see what she’s going to make -and more, I hope there will be a list somewhere with everyone who attended. I didn’t take many pictures, as I was too busy socializing 🙂 but I’m sure a lot will pop up everywhere around the blogosphere (The spell checker doesn’t recognize blogosphere, why isn’t it a word yet? :D).

At noon we took some group photos and headed out to Goldhawk Road, and this is what I bought:

I have a plan for everything, except for the pink bathing ladies, which was £2/m anyway, so no mindless shopping. Ok, maybe just a bit.

I wore my Burda 10/2011 – 122 red dress

Thank you, Rachel, for organising such a wonderful event! I’m sure it wasn’t easy, but I do hope you will do it again!

17 thoughts on “London Sewing Meet Up

  1. Pingback: Bust my stash! or Less shopping, more sewing | Made in my living room

  2. Pingback: Peacockish | Made in my living room

  3. finally found you- well your blog – great choices for fabric. In an attempt to save the bank and keep fabric stash at current levels, I got myself into talking to people so I got distracted and only left with 3 pieces of fabric one of which your choice for a possible Belcarra. Well I actually made my second Belcarra top out of it, finished it today:). Are you going to Minerva meetup on 14.06.2014? I you need a place to stay a few nights, you can stay with me. and we are just about 30 min train ride from Darwin 🙂

    Like

  4. How cool! I wish I could have been there! I love the fabric you bought…especially the purple cotton drill and the flowery fabric for your maxi dress.
    BTW…your wrap dress is great…have to go an look for that pattern NOW!

    Like

    • Thank you! It’s a woven in the magazine, but I cut it 1 size smaller and made it in a ponte knit, so I didn’t need facings either, I just turned the seam allowances to the inside and top stitched them.

      Like

  5. Wow, the meeting place looks amazing and the fabrics you bought are so pretty ! Your future projects are going to be very interesting. Can’t wait to see all of them on your blog.

    Like

    • Thank you! The place is indeed wonderful, it’s the Victoria and Albert Museum of decorative arts and design. I could spend days, maybe weeks there 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

