Am I too late for the hoot trend?

When I first started sewing more than 5 years ago, my main resource was BurdaStyle website. Lots and lots of sewing tips, tutorials and free patterns. I still have manyof them saved din my account, but I think this is the first time I’m making something with one of their patterns. (I don’t count a failed Kasia that I attempted as a first project)

The JJ blouse is a simple princess seams shirt with ruffles and puffed sleeves. I skipped the ruffles as my fabric is busy enough.

I’m usually a 38-40 but after measuring the pattern I decided to cut 36 and my seam allowances were a bit more than 5/8, so this pattern runs large.
I also removed 2 cm in length, one from the bust and another one from the waist. This is standard for me as I am petite.

I had the buttonholes made at DMButtons. Save yourself a headache and use them if you are in London. You could also send them your garment by post if you are in the UK. I paid 3 pounds for 8 buttonholes, and they were done in 2 minutes. Sewn, cut and ready to use. I’m never making buttonholes again!

What you see there is water. It was raining and I wiped that street light with my bum.

I bought the fabric at Saeed’s Fabrics in my only (so far) trip to Walthamstow market last year. I had only one meter, it was an impulse purchase as I loved the print too much but had no idea what to make with it. A month or so ago I saw that a fitted blouse contest was going to run on Pattern Review. I had the pattern (still free on BurdaStyle), I had the fabric, a contest was the motivation I needed to make something.

This is the first shirt I make and I love it! It’s not often that a project ends up better than I imagined :) . I was feeling so smug I even tried the Rachel pose.

I won’t do it again. I promise!

 

5 thoughts on “Am I too late for the hoot trend?

  1. Pingback: A spotty JJ for PR sewing bee | Made in my living room

  2. Pingback: I conquered the shirt. In plaid. | Made in my living room

  3. Buna. As avea nevoie de ajutor cu cateva explicatii daca vrei si poti sa ma ajuti..legate de croitorie ,bineinteles. Mai exact..urmeaza nunta frazelui meu si vreau sa imi fac singura o rochie..si am nevoie de cateva detalii. Astept un raspuns din partea ta. Multumesc mult
    Elena

    • Salut, Elena! Daca imi spui ce rochie vrei sa iti faci si cat ai mai cusut inainte, pot sa incerc sa te ajut. Materialele folosite la rochiile de ocazie sunt foart epretentioase si greu de lucrat. Gasesti foarte mult ajutor si pe forumul “Lucru de mana”, nu stiu daca ai ajuns pe acolo🙂

      • in primul rand, scuze pentru intarzierea raspunului. nu am ajuns pe acel forum, insa mi ar fi de ajutor daca mi ai lasa un nume cum te pot gasi pe facebook si cred ca acolo putem comunica mai usor. multumesc mult ptr raspuns.

What do you think?

