And the papers want to know whose shirts I wear

This simple top must be the most controversial piece of clothing I have ever made. I have never heard so many comments about something I was wearing. Most of them were “Oh, your top is so shiny!”. I think this is due to the fact that I never ever wear shiny things AND the artificial light in the office makes it look shinier than it actually is.

Even my husband said I look like this

Click to see the video

Click to see the video

But I definitely think I look more like this

Space Oddity

Click to see the video

This is my second WhiteTree project and this time I chose this metallic copper jersey and Vogue 8636. I kinda went with view D, but removed the darts in the sleeves and neckband. There were supposed to be two 1/2 inch darts in the band, but I removed one inch from the width of the band hoping that by stretching the smaller band in the neck opening I could leave out the darts. Well, the band was too wide for this to work, and I really looked more like Zlad than Bowie. I don’t believe in ripping seams in soft knit, so removing the band wasn’t an option. I fold it back to the inside, overlapping the edge to the initial seam and top stitched. It looks good, like a proper neckband should look like 🙂

There was a guy smiling from a window across the street 🙂

I usually use size 12 with Vogue, but this time 12 looked rather small. I compared the pattern with a top I had and decied to go with 12 for neck and armholes and 14 everywhere else. I top stitched most seams in an attempt to bring this sparkly top into day wear.

I love this blue door I found today very close to my office. I might make it my standard backdrop, as long as the people living there will let me. I didn’t meet them today, but there were a lot of people walking around smiling, I couldn’t help but to smile back. I have the blog for too long now to get shy when people stare at me. 🙂

This was my face when an old lady on a bike passed by waving

Shiny is not always bad, is it?

*You can use the code LIVING ROOM at check out for 20% off and free delivery. One thing I noticed when I used it (I was buying some accessories) is that the discount is applied before VAT.

6 thoughts on “And the papers want to know whose shirts I wear

    • Thank you! I like it too and I have worn it two times already since last weekend and I made it. I think it’s going to be a regular in my weekly wardrobe. 🙂

      Like

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.